Las Estacas is a gift from nature that is near the town of Tlaltizapan, Morelos. The name
comes from the stakes that were placed by the river to control the rise of the water and to irrigate the adjacent farmland. It’s known that the Olmecs settled here and later the Tlahuicas people in the area where now stands Yautepec and Tlaltizapan. This was an important region because of the abundance of water from the rivers. When the Spanish explorers arrived, the conquistador, Hernán Cortés, founded the Temilpa Ranch and eventually turned it
into a sugar mill. The river was used by the water mill as Las Estacas was part of the original Ranch.
As Mexico developed, the lands belonged to Manuel Alarcon, governor of Morelos and great friend of Porfirio Diaz. When Don Porfirio was sick he used to bath in these mineral rich waters. During the Mexican Revolution, Emiliano Zapata had his headquarters in Tlaltizapan: At this time the Ranch in the area were abandoned and eventually destroyed, including the Temilpa.
The current owners have had the gardens and ranch since 1941 and for the past 70 years it has been enjoyed by tourists and nature lovers. Over the years, we have expanded our installations and services for visitors and created a surprising and unique place.